Dasho Tshering Wangchuk

Dasho Tshering Wangchuk 

Dasho Tshering Wangchuk
Chief Advisor of the Interim Government of Bhutan
Assumed office 
9 August 2018
Monarch Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck
Preceded by Tshering Tobgay (as Prime Minister)
Chief Justice of Bhutan
Assumed office 
29 November 2014
Monarch Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck
Preceded by Sonam Tobgye
Personal details
Alma mater George Washington University
University of Delhi
Military service
Allegiance  Bhutan
Service/branch Royal Bhutan Army
Years of service 1990–1995
Rank Second Lieutenant

Dasho Tshering Wangchuk is a Bhutanese jurist currently serving as the Chief Advisor of the Interim Government of Bhutan, following its dissolution in preparation for National Assemblyelections. He is also the Chief Justice of Bhutan, appointed in November 2014.


Dasho Tshering Wangchuk has a master’s degree in law from George Washington University, and another degree in law from the University of Delhi. Wangchuk began his career as a judicial officer in 1987, serving as an apprentice to the judges of the High Court. From 1990 to 1995 he served as a Second Lieutenant in the Royal Bhutan Army. He served as a judicial officer in the High Court from 1993 to 1999. From 2006 to 2010 he served in Samdrup Jongkhar as district court judge. In 2010 he was promoted to justice of the High Court. In November 2014, he was appointed Chief Justice of the country by the King.

Chief Advisor

On August 1, 2018, Bhutan’s lower house dissolved in preparation for general elections. On August 9, the king appointed an interim government, headed by Wangchuk as Chief Advisor. On August 11, members of the Interim Government were assigned portfolios. Wangchuk is responsible for the ministries of Home, Cultural Affairs, and Foreign affairs.

After the dissolution of the National Assembly of Bhutan on 1st August 2018, His Majesty the King on 9 August, 2018 granted Royal Audience and Royal Kasho appointing the members of the Interim Government in accordance with Article 19 of the Constitution of the Kingdom of Bhutan.


The Interim Government consists of:

1. Dasho Tshering Wangchuk, Chief Justice of Bhutan – Chief Advisor
2. Dasho Karma Ura, President, Center for Bhutan Studies
3. Dasho Penjore, Governer, Royal Monetary Authority
4. Dasho Ugen Chewang, Chairman, Druk Holding and Investment
5. Dasho Chhewang Rinzin, Managing Director, Druk Green Power Corporation
6. Dasho Karma Tshiteem, Chairperson, Royal Civil Service Commission
7. Aum Kinley Yangzom, Chairperson, Anti-Corruption Commission
8. Mr. Nidup Dorji, Vice Chancellor, Royal University of Bhutan
9. Mr. Bachu Phub Dorji, Managing Director, Kuensel Corporation

The Chief Advisor and Advisors of the Interim Government upon the grant of Royal Kasho were sworn into an Oath/Affirmation of Office and Secrecy in the presence of Venerable Tsulag Lopen in the Cabinet Secretariat Office with a tendrel ceremony.

The Interim Government will function for the period not exceeding 90 days (30th October 2018) with dedication and solemn faith to the Tsa-Wa-Sum. During this period, the primary and general rounds of elections will be conducted for the Parliamentary-elect government.
Following the Royal Kasho appointing the members of the Interim Government, Dasho Tshering Tobgay, Prime Minister and Minister signed the handing-taking of the office with the Cabinet Secretary and Secretaries of the respective Ministries.

At the Tashichhodzong, the Prime Minister and Ministers offered Choemay and nyen-dhar at Dukhang and Kuenra. The Prime Minister then signed the Government Order Relinquishing the Office at the Lhengye Zhuntsho Meeting Hall in the presence of Ven. Tsulag Lopen, Cabinet Secretary, Government Secretaries and Attorney General.(This part taken from Bhutan official government website cabinet.gov.bt)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.