Denis Zvizdić

Denis Zvizdić

Denis Zvizdić
Denis Zvizdic June 2015 (18761084058).jpg
Chairman of the Council of Ministers of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Assumed office
31 March 2015
President Mladen Ivanić
Dragan Čović
Bakir Izetbegović
Mladen Ivanić
Dragan Čović
Preceded by Vjekoslav Bevanda
6th Prime Minister of Sarajevo Canton
In office
6 February 2003 – 16 November 2006
Preceded by Nermin Pećanac
Succeeded by Samir Silajdžić
Personal details
Born (1964-06-09) 9 June 1964 (age 53)
Sarajevo, Yugoslavia
(now Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Nationality Bosniak
Political party Party of Democratic Action
Alma mater University of Sarajevo

Denis Zvizdić (born 9 June 1964) is a Bosnian politician. Since 31 March 2015 he is Chairman of the Council of Ministers of Bosnia and Herzegovina. He is a Bosniak of the Party of Democratic Action.[1]


Zvizdić was born in 1964 in Sarajevo. He studied at the Faculty of Architecture of the University of Sarajevo, where he earned a PhD and in 2007 became professor of Architecture.[2]

Zvizdić had worked at the Ministry for Environment and Construction of the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina and of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (FBiH), as well as for the Unioninvest Sarajevo Company prior to his political career. He was also Co-Director of the National Action Plan for Protection of Environment.

In 2003 Zvizdić became Premier of the Sarajevo Canton – his first major political appointment – and in 2006 speaker of the Sarajevo Cantonal Assembly.[2][3] He was then a member of the parliament of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (House of Peoples in 2006-2010, House of Representatives in 2010-2014).[2]

He has been a member of SDA since 1991 and a member of its Presidency from 2005. In 2009, he was appointed Chair of the SDA Council and joined the party’s Main Board in 2013. He was also a member of the party Cantonal Board in Sarajevo (2004-2005), and prior to that member of the Sarajevo Centre Municipal Board (2000-2003).

On 31 March 2015 in a vote in the House of Representatives of Bosnia and Herzegovina determining the new Chairman of the Council of Ministers of Bosnia and Herzegovina out of 42 members of the 28 voted for Zvizdić, 5 voted against and 2 abstained. Zvizdić promised to improve action on the accession of Bosnia and Herzegovina to the European Union.[3] During his premiership the SAA agreement with the EU entered into force (15 July 2015) and on 15 February 2016 Bosnia and Herzegovina submitted its EU membership application.

3 thoughts on “Denis Zvizdić

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *